Devta Name/Local Name/Vedic Name Markanday Rishi/ Deu Markandey/ Markandey
Type (Rishi, Nag, etc) Rishi
Powering Divinity (Jogini) Chood Kali
Associated Devtas Shaman, Daradu, Jud, Baan, Jagadru, Jeur..
Annual Fair (attended by which other deity) Nirshu 13 Vaishakh., Chood Jote. With the permission of devta other deities are invited.
Dussehra Participation/Place


Location Distance from Kullu Directions Stay Options Key Contact
Ishvaa 206 km Kullu-Aut-Banjar-Jalori Pass-Ani-Nirmand-Ishvaa Kamlu Ram, Sinu Ram , Kardar/Lachhi Ram, Dalu ram, Goor
9418858129, 9805915312,9816771022, 9805790451


Markandey Rishi, village Shalaat. The devata has eight mohras of ashtdhatu. And the main mohra is named as bhadi much About the emergence of Markandey Rishi, according to the Bharta, in the beginning of the Kaliyug, a divine power landed on the earth and took the form of a Pindi, a small round oblong stone, at a place called Lahul-Bajhud in Lahaul-Spiti. That pindi took birth in seven different forms of sages and they settled at seven different places like Bajhaud, Trilokinath, Bharas, Manglour, Balagarh, Ishwa and Nor. One of the brothers sat in meditation here. The rest reached at Trilokinath. They lighted a lamp here. One of them sat in meditation here. Others moving ahead crossed the Rohtang Jot and from there saw Bhekhlidhar. Moving ahead they reached at Dhungri where they met Dhungri Devi. They were offered Baitha Raj, offer to settle, by the devi but they showed unwillingness. Furhter they moved to Bhekhali and met Bhekhali Devi. Then they reached at Shamshari. The place was under the dominance of Rana Mungdu whom they eradicated. Moving ahead they reached at Tharas and one of them sat in meditation here. Another one sat at Manglor in Banjar. The others reached Balegad in Banjar. The remaining two sages reached at Maruti Seri crossing through Jalori Jot.
They finally reached at Shaidhar behind Ishwa village. There they killed the wicked Rana of the place. One of them moved to Ishwa and the other one settled at Nor.