Devta Name/Local Name/Vedic Name Jhakdu Nag/ Jhakdu Nag
Type (Rishi, Nag, etc) Nag
Powering Divinity (Jogini) 16 Shauni
Associated Devtas Kaumbhu, Karnadu
Annual Fair (attended by which other deity) Vaishakhi, 12 Sharwan. Jal Devta, Boda nag, Kushwa devi, Jahru nag.
Dussehra Participation/Place No


th>Key Contact

Location Distance from Kullu Directions Stay Options
Dhaar Gram Panchayat Sargha 179 km Kullu-Aut-Banjar-Jalori Pass-Ani-Nirmand-Dhaar Hotels/Rest Houses at Nirmand or Rampur (Shimla district) Jyoti lal , Kardar / Ishwar Singh, Goor
98169-55417/94595 60105


The famous Budhi Nagin, the old serpent, gave birth to nine Nagas. The seventh brother of them passing through Maghaini Jot towards Danga and further moved to Badi Jan near Humku and started staying in a bush, locally called Jhokad. So he was called Jhakdu Nag. He caused there water to come through a spring. People built a temple for the Nag devta. Later on temples for this devta were established at Dhar, Deura and also Kusumba villages. The devta has nine mohras of triangular shape. The main mohra is named kusumbha.